Fairy Phyllis

Phyllis fairy

I got a commission request to make a fairy similar to one I had done before. The customer wanted a fairy to give to her friend who is terminally ill. She asked if I could make it on a glass back so light could shine through. No problem, I’ve done glass-on-glass mosaic before. We kept talking, and decided to make the fairy look somewhat like her friend. So instead of the typical young waif fairy with long hair, I got to make a rounder, more mature fairy with short locks. It was fun. I decided to set her on a tulip because it would be wonderful to believe that the reason tulips sometimes droop is because of who’s sitting on them!

Phyllis fairy light

I thought it turned out well on its own, but it really shines (pun intended) when held up to the light. I love it, the customer loved it, and her friend was so moved by receiving her own custom fairy mosaic that she was in tears. I hope it brings her much joy.

 

Leave a comment